Contact SND

The Society for News Design

1602 Belle View Blvd, Alexandria, Virginia 22308.

Email SND: [email protected]

For news about the Society, SNDMakes and other programs and events, follow SND on Twitter, Instagram, Vimeo or Facebook and consider supporting programs like this one by becoming a member.

As of 3 January 2020, below find the full list of SND elected officers and appointed directors, committee chairs, program directors. Last updated 3 January 2020.

Officers Staff Regional directors Program directors

Board of Directors

The business of the Society is governed by its Board of Directors. Each are dues-paying members of the Society, and either elected officers (President, Vice President, Secretary/Treasurer, immediate Past President) or appointed directors (Regional and Program). The Executive Committee of the Board of Directors consists of the officers, executive director, one regional director, one program director and three appointees from the Media/Journalism community at large, not necessarily SND members.

Board member responsibilities and accountabilities: Ultimate responsibility for the association rests with the Board of Directors. The responsibility is recognized by state and federal laws; legally, the Board is responsible for the activities, employees and fiscal integrity of the association. The appropriate role of the Board is to set policies that will ensure it fulfills its legal and professional responsibilities to the association. The Board should set the tone for dynamic and aggressive leadership within the association. Specific responsibility areas include:
• Ensuring membership needs are met;
• Approving and evaluating all the programs and activities of the association;
• Planning the future direction of the association;
• Establishing broad policies to guide the operation of the association;
• Selecting and hiring the chief staff executive and monitoring and evaluating the staff executive’s performance;
• and, Setting financial objectives and monitoring their achievement.

Executive Committee10 members, mix of elected and appointed: Consists of the elected officers, the executive director, the past-president, a representative from the program directors (elected annually from the group), a representative from the regional directors (elected annually from the group) and three at-large members, one of whom has traditionally been the International Relations Director.

Duties of the Executive Committee: Sets agendas for semi-annual board meetings and to handle any contracts and evaluations of staff members

Current committee:

• Aly Morris, current President (email Aly)
Joe Greco, current Vice-President – designate (email Joe)
Ryan Sparrow, Programs representative (email Ryan)
Steve DorseyAt large (email Steve)
• Paige Connor, At large (email Paige)

OfficersOne-year terms, elected

President — Alyson Morris
Features designer, Chicago Tribune
[email protected] » @alyson_morris

Duties of the President: Preside over meetings of the Board of Directors; serve as chair of the Executive Committee; monitor and control implementation of policies of the Society; make such Director or Officer appointments as are necessary during the term of office; supervise the Executive Director.

Vice-President (designate) — Joe Greco
[email protected] » @joegreco

Duties of the Vice President: Discharge duties of the President in the absence or inability of the President to act; supervise the Program Directors; coordinate closely with the President and serve as “President-Elect” during the last quarter of the President’s term in office; other duties as assigned by President. Member of Executive Committee. Also serves as Chairman, SND Foundation.
Duties of the Secretary/Treasurer: Oversee all financial matters of the Society; issue timely reports of financial status to the Board of Directors and other authorized representatives; oversee and aid in the preparation of the annual budget; other duties as assigned by President. Also serves as Treasurer, SND Foundation. Also, supervise the publications of SND through the Publications Director. Member of Executive Committee. Keep minutes of all meetings of the Board of Directors and annual and special meetings; ensure issuance of minutes to Board of Directors and other authorized representatives in a timely fashion after the meetings.–

Immediate Past-President

Duties of the Immediate Past President: Serve as chair of an ad-hoc Nominating Committee, which usually selects two candidates for the office of Secretary/Treasurer. Advise the President on matters of continuing importance (which overlap from term to term); other duties as assigned by President. Chair of the Past President Advisory Committee. Member of Executive Committee.

Full-time staff

Executive Director

Duties of the Executive Director: Serves as the Society’s chief administrative officer, and for the purposes of managing the corporation day-to-day, be considered the Corporate Secretary. The executive director is responsible to the Executive Committee, and shall confer regularly with the Society’s members on all matters of Society policy, and on major matters of the Society’s operations.

Program Directors

Three-year terms, appointed

Competitions and Best of Digital Design
Ryan Sparrow (2021)
Instructor, Ball State University
Art & Journalism Building, 300
Muncie, IN  47306
(765) 285-3560
Email: Ryan Sparrow

Annual Book

Steve Layton
Lecturer, University of Indiana
Bloomington, IN
Email: Steve Layton

International Relations

Douglas Okasaki (2020)
Professor, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile’s school of journalism
Santiago, Chile
Email: Douglas Okasaki

Education Director: U.S.

Darren A. Sanefski (2020)
Assistant Professor of Multiple Platform Journalism,
The Meek School of Journalism and New Media
Rm. 225 Farley Hall, 1 Grove Loop, University of Mississippi,
University, MS 38677
(315) 247-2358
Email: Darren A. Sanefski
Twitter: @dsanefski

Regional DirectorsTwo-year terms, appointed

SND Regions Map 101615

Region 1 — U.S. and Canada


Region 11 — Mexico + Central America

Alexandro Medrano (2018)
Innovation and Strategic Planning Director for Grupo Imagen
Bucareli No. 1, Col. Centro C.P. 06600 México
Email: Alexandro Medrano

Region 12 — South America


Region 13 — SND/Scandinavia


Region 14 — SND/Mediterranean

Includes: Spain, Italy, Greece and Turkey

Javier Errea (as long as SND/España president)
Principal, Javier Errea Comunicación
Parque Empresarial Ansoáin, Larrazko 93. Oficina 201
31013 Ansoáin, Navarra
Email: Javier Errea

Region 15 — Western Europe


Region 16 — SND/Dach (German-speaking countries)

Sven Gallinelli (as long as SND-Dach president)
Art Director
NZZ Regionalmedien
Lucerne, Switzerland
Sven Gallinelli

Region 17 — Russia (and Russian-language newspapers)


Region 18 — SND/France

Includes: France, Belgium


Region 19 — Asia, South-Pacific


Region 20 — Africa + Middle East


Region 21 — SND Chinese