SND42: Best of Print News Design results

The Society for News Design is proud to announce the results of the 42nd edition of its Best of Print News Design competition. This year, 27 judges from across the globe reviewed more than 3,200 entries across 11 categories during four days of remote judging. The competition honors journalistic, visual and technical excellence for work produced in 2020. 

For the first time, we are releasing our database of 2020 winners through Airtable with downloadable PDFs of each entry. Use the filter and sort functions to view awards by year, publication or category.

The top 10 award-winning publications 

  1. The New York Times
  2. The Washington Post 
  3. Los Angeles Times
  4. Minneapolis Star Tribune
  5. Politico Europe 
  6. National Geographic 
  7. Globe & Mail
  8. South China Morning Post
  10. American City Business Journals 

The judges

  • Ming Wong, The Globe & Mail
  • Allison Hong, Los Angeles Times
  • Ali Walker, Politico Europe
  • Simon Khalil, Arab News
  • Eddie Alvarez, The Washington Post
  • Richard Epps, Michigan State University 
  • Jesica Rizzo, LA NACIÓN
  • Rebecca Chew, The California Sunday Magazine 
  • Jennifer Luxton, The Seattle Times
  • Shannon Robertson, The New York Times
  • Adonis Durado, Ohio University 
  • Kayla Reynolds, The Wall Street Journal 
  • Monica Serrano, National Geographic 
  • Chris Rukan, Washington Post
  • Kyle Slagle, USA TODAY Network 
  • Michiela Thuman, Star Tribune
  • Ann Gerhart, Washington Post
  • Ellen Collier, ACBJ 
  • Sean Kristoff-Jones, Tampa Bay Times
  • Kelly Doe, The New York Times 
  • Alex K. Fong, San Francisco Chronicle
  • Adam Griffiths, Foreign Policy 
  • Sue Santola, Advance Local 
  • Javier Zarracina, USA TODAY
  • Linda Shapley, Colorado Politics 
  • Alex Breuer, Guardian 
  • Darren Sanefski, University of Mississippi 

World’s Best Designed

Two publications, Weekendavisen and de Volkskrant, were named World’s Best Designed from a selection of five publications that were named finalists for the award.


Comments are closed.