Best of Sports Design 2012: Special Section Covers

This is it, folks.

Here are the Special Section Covers winners in the Best of Sports Design 2012.

Here’s how it works: You’ll look at the winners and at the bottom of this post, you’ll vote for your favorite of all the winners. And in a few weeks, we’ll reveal THAT voting too. That’s called an Editors’ Choice Award. Simple enough, right?

Here’s a link to all the categories, entries and other winners.

Editors’ Choice voting deadline: April 21, 2013

We’ll have a sort of “debriefing” post over the weekend in hopes of assessing what we can and can’t take away from the competition, as well as a list of the judges and, ideally, a discussion. In the meantime, enjoy the winners, thanks for participating, and please feel free to vote for your favorites in Editors’ Choice.

Best of Sports Design 2012: Special Section Covers

Husker Voters Guide, Omaha World-Herald
Credit: Tim Parks, Matt Haney

A Giant Leap, Omaha World-Herald
Credit: Tim Parks, Alyssa Schukar, Ryan Soderlin

Anger Management, Buffalo News
Credit: Vince Chiaramonte, Dan Zakroczemski

Selection Sunday, Washington Post
Credit: Brian Gross

High School Football, Buffalo News
Credit: Andrea Zagata

A-Listers, Los Angeles Times
Credit: Derek Simmons, Michael Whitley, Robert Carter

Crowned, Los Angeles Times
Credit: Michael Whitley

Category stats
Total entries: 95
Total winners: 7


customer survey

About Josh Crutchmer

is design and graphics editor at The Plain Dealer.

Leave a Reply