SND ballots are open; candidate profiles posted

The Annual Members Meeting of the Society for News Design takes place at 1:15 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 26, 2009, at the Borges Cultural Center, Viamonte and San Martín, Buenos Aires, Argentina. At the Annual Meeting, members will hear reports from the officers and the 2009 election results.

This year, SND will again conduct its election for officers online. Current members in good standing as of Sept. 11, 2009, will vote over the Internet.

SND’s bylaws set the number of officers at three positions: President, Vice President and Secretary-Treasurer. The slate of candidates for those positions is below; their bios and campaign statements appear online.

Candidates for President: Jeff Goertzen, Kris Viesselman

Candidates for Vice President: Patty Cox, Steve Dorsey

Candidates for Secretary-Treasurer: Jonathon Berlin, Lily Lu

Members may write in one alternative name in the place of each candidate on their ballots.

Review candidates’ bios and question-and-answers.

If you have any questions about the election, please contact SND headquarters, 1130 Ten Rod Road, E 206, North Kingstown, R.I. 02825, USA, (401) 294-5233, [email protected]

Key dates:

Sept. 2: SND has sent instructions for online voting to members. Headquarters will send e-mails and postcards with instructions for online voting to all members who are current as of that date.

Sept. 11
You can vote only if you are a current member by Sept. 11, so don’t forget to sign up or renew.

Sept. 26: The election will close at 12 a.m. Buenos Aires time on Saturday, Sept. 26. The results will be announced at the Annual Meeting Luncheon, Saturday, Sept. 26.

Jan. 1, 2010: The elected officers will begin their terms Jan. 1, 2010.

Is your membership current?

An SND membership provides many tools to help you become a better journalist — and you can vote in the election if you’re a member-in-good-standing as of September 11.

SND offers annual memberships for professionals and students. Help chart the path ahead for SND.

Join or renew before Sept. 11.

Special thanks to Yuri Victor for his work in producing the candidates’ profile viewer