Meet our 2008 judges



Tracy Boyer is an award-winning multimedia producer at The Roanoke
Times and Previously, she served as the UNC correspondent
for and interned with The Atlanta Journal-Constitution.
Boyer graduated with a multimedia degree from UNC’s School of Journalism
and Mass Communication in May 2007. Her passions lie in travel
and multimedia production with a focus on video, audio and web-based



Isabel Chang is an interactive designer in New York City. She graduated
from Columbia University’s MFA program in 2000 with a focus in digital
media. She has worked for several advertising agencies such as TribalDDB
NY, McCann Erickson and Digitas as well as publishing houses such as
Condé Nast, Maxim Online and Time Inc. In her non-commercial career
path, she was the Lower East Side Tenement Museum’s Digital Artist in
Residence in 2006 and she was awarded a multimedia grant from the Lower
Manhattan Cultural Council in 2008.



After working as a reporter for a number of years, Maria Ignacia Errazuriz
now serves as Dean of the School of Journalism and Mass Communication
at Universidad de los Andes. In this capacity, she leads the School’s community
to implement a new curriculum, new teaching methodologies, and
new research centers to keep pace with new technology and its impacts on
communications and journalism. She is visiting the United States as an
Eisenhower Fellow. During her fellowship, she will address issues such as
multimedia communications, eye-tracking research, and change management



Lee Glynn is the online designer and multimedia producer of daily and advance editorial
content for Before joining the St. Petersburg Times ten
years ago, Lee freelanced as a designer and infographic artist for various
publishers and design firms including McGraw-Hill, Houghton Mifflin,
Weekly Reader, Grolier, MacMillan, Kirchoff-Wohlberg and Walker
Design for eight years. Earlier in her career, Lee was an infographic artist
at the Times Journal Publishing Company in Springfield, Va., and
then associate art director at McGraw-Hill’s Engineering News Record in
New York.



Sergio Goldenberg is a professor from the Journalism School of the
Catholic University in Santiago, Chile, from where he holds a journalism
degree. He is also a Master of Science in Digital Media from
Georgia Tech, where he is currently pursuing his Ph.D. His research
has been on interactive narrative, computational journalism and interactive
television. In Chile, he taught new media and interactive narrative
courses. Parallel to his academic duties, for five years he led the website
development area at an important television network in Chile.



Barb Palser is director of digital media at McGraw-Hill Broadcasting,
overseeing the Web and mobile strategies of McGraw-Hill’s ABC affiliates
in Denver, Indianapolis, San Diego and Bakersfield, Calif. Before
joining McGraw-Hill, she spent ten years with Minneapolis-based Internet
Broadcasting Systems, Inc., developing and managing many of the
Web sites of IB’s 80+ local TV partners. She also spent a year as news
editor at The Poynter Institute. She has been a new media columnist
and feature writer for American Journalism Review since 1999.



Joe Weiss has worked as a photojournalist, multimedia reporter,
designer, programmer, producer and editor in print and online media
since 1996. He is currently a freelance interactive producer and the
developer of Soundslides, a multimedia authoring application. Previously
he was an interactive producer at The News & Observer in
Raleigh, N.C., the director of photography at The Herald-Sun in
Durham, N.C., and worked for as a multimedia producer
in Redmond, Wash.



Coordinator: LAURA RUEL, Assistant Professor, UNC-CH


Assistant Coordinator: ROB COVEY, Senior Vice President, Content/Design,

National Geographic Digital Media


Wilson Andrews
Karen Avent
Mary Katherine Ayers
Meredith Bell
Todd Brantley
Nacho Corbella
Phil Daquila
Courtney Dean
Amanda Dworaczyk
Zach Ferriola-Bruckenstein
Lauren Frohne
Amanda Goldbarb
Evelyn Greene
Sara Kelleher
Laura-Chase McGehee
Eileen Mignoni
Melissa Moser
Caity Pelliccia
Bart Wojdynski
Jon Young
Ashley Zammitt